Volunteer Fire Departments

Wilson County contracts with 15 volunteer fire departments to provide protection for the citizens of the County. Of the 15 departments, 11 are geographically based in Wilson County. The other four are based in Nash, Wayne, and Johnston Counties.

Presently, there are approximately 450 volunteer firefighters county-wide. These men and women donate their time and skills to their communities to provide fire protection with no personal gain other than the satisfaction of knowing that they make a difference.

All of the 15 volunteer fire departments, the NC Forest Service (Wilson County Office), the City of Wilson Fire / Rescue Services, and the Wilson Fire Marshal / Emergency Management Office are members of the Wilson County Fire Protection Services Association. The Association works to promote fire safety and unified response to incidents county-wide.

For Fire Emergencies Anywhere in Wilson County, call 9-1-1.